The Basics – BIML: Project Connection GUIDs

Was in the process of just updating my framework to get it released and documented and came across a slight issue with  my code and Project Connection GUID’s. Am not sure if something has changed since I last used it but I’m sure I didn’t have this issue before but nevertheless.

The Problem

 

Right… if you’ve been doing SSIS a while then you’ll know connections are hooked up to tasks using a unique identifier that is a GUID. It doesn’t use the connection name which I’ll be honest for practical purposes is pretty annoying sometimes. If you re-create the connection you have to edit all the package tasks that use the connection because it has a different GUID. Well with BIML that ain’t so bad because you can just re-create all the packages quite easily

However… I do get the issue where I have a BIML script that has a code nugget that creates many packages. However on each iteration for each package it creates new connections whether I choose to overwrite them or not this means only one of my packages (the last one) has the connections hooked up properly. Also I may create assets in a few different hits that use the same connections and it’s just to easy to break the GUID’s by re-creating the connections.

The Solution

 

The solution I’ve settled on is to force the connection GUID’s. The reason being GUID’s constantly being dynamic and out of sync is annoying and it suits me better to have explicit control of what they are. At the <BIML> root the <connection> node doesn’t allow the definition of a GUID or Id. To get around this I’ve used an annotation and then used the annotation in a code nugget in the <package> node to force the GUID’s

This suits my purpose for my framework because I don’t want to repeat code. I can basically have 1 single BIML file that is my global connections definition for all my other BIML scripts that depend on those connections.

So for a very simple example we 2 files:

  1. ProjectConnections.biml – defines my connections
  2. Package.biml – defines my package that uses the connection

ProjectConnections.biml

 

<Biml xmlns="http://schemas.varigence.com/biml.xsd">

<Connections>
 
 <Connection Name="Adventure Works" 
 ConnectionString="Data Source=.;Initial Catalog=AdventureWorks2012;Provider=SQLNCLI11.1;Integrated Security=SSPI;Auto Translate=False;"
 CreateInProject="true">
 <Annotations>
 <Annotation AnnotationType="Tag" Tag="GUID">0284217D-A653-4400-87F3-529A569B8F05</Annotation> 
 </Annotations>
 </Connection>
 
 <Connection Name="Stage" 
 ConnectionString="Data Source=.;Initial Catalog=Stage;Provider=SQLNCLI11.1;Integrated Security=SSPI;Auto Translate=False;"
 CreateInProject="true">
 <Annotations>
 <Annotation AnnotationType="Tag" Tag="GUID">46A16E16-E57A-4D98-82CA-13AB3F011980</Annotation> 
 </Annotations>
 </Connection>
 
 <Connection Name="SSISDB" 
 ConnectionString="Data Source=.;Initial Catalog=SSISDB;Provider=SQLNCLI11.1;Integrated Security=SSPI;Auto Translate=False;"
 CreateInProject="true">
 <Annotations>
 <Annotation AnnotationType="Tag" Tag="GUID">CF98B9CE-7D19-4493-9E33-1026C688F874</Annotation> 
 </Annotations>
 </Connection>
 
 </Connections>
</Biml>

Package.biml

 

<#@ template language="C#" #>
<Biml xmlns="http://schemas.varigence.com/biml.xsd"> 
    <Packages> 
        <Package Name="Package Connections 1">
        
            <Tasks>
    <ExecuteSQL Name="Test" ConnectionName="SSISDB" ResultSet="None">
      <DirectInput>
                  SELECT TOP 0 1
      </DirectInput>
    </ExecuteSQL>
            </Tasks>
              
            <Connections> 
            <# foreach(var connection in RootNode.Connections) {#> 
            <Connection ConnectionName="<#=connection.Name#>" Id="<#=connection.GetTag("GUID")#>">
                
            </Connection> <#}#> 
            </Connections> 
        </Package>

        <Package Name="Package Connections 2"> 
        
            <Tasks>
    <ExecuteSQL Name="Test" ConnectionName="SSISDB" ResultSet="None">
      <DirectInput>
                  SELECT TOP 0 1
      </DirectInput>
    </ExecuteSQL>
            </Tasks>
              
            <Connections> 
            <# foreach(var connection in RootNode.Connections) {#> 
            <Connection ConnectionName="<#=connection.Name#>" Id="<#=connection.GetTag("GUID")#>">
                
            </Connection> <#}#> 
            </Connections> 
        </Package> 
        
    </Packages>
    
</Biml>

With BIML express we can select ProjectConnections.biml then Package.biml, right click, hit Generate SSIS Packages and everything is all good. The cool thing is that if you’ve already created the connections as part of the framework build then it doesn’t matter if you overwrite or not when you get message below because the GUID’s are explicitly defined.

connections overwrite

Wrap Up

 

This is a very basic example of the pattern I’m using in my framework – which I am trying to get out but just have to update and polish a few things. Fundamentally I’m forcing the project connection GUID’s using annotations. I did look for an Id property on the BIML connection object so I don’t have to use annotations but couldn’t find one. I may have overlooked it during my haste and if there is one I’m sure someone will correct me.

There’s a bit more to it when you start handling table definitions and I’ve used linq to sub-select the connections I need for a particular package templates. These more sophisticated examples will be in my framework code.

I do have a metadata repo and you could declare the connections in the repo and control the creation from there using custom C# assembly. However I really don’t like re-producing features that SSIS already has. It already has a repo for connections and environments called SSISDB and my framework extends SSISDB rather than overlapping it which I much prefer since there is no confusion or complexity in the end product of how environments are configured and administrated. I don’t see the point or creating features that SSIS already has and that can used within SSMS.

Leave a Reply

